Roadside Assistance by Insurer: What Each Partner Includes
Most comprehensive car policies on BJAK include free 24-hour towing and roadside help. But each insurer caps it differently: by distance (for example 150 km), by ringgit (for example RM300), or unlimited.
- Last reviewed:
- Reviewed by:
- Compliance
- 16 partners, different limits. Each insurer and takaful operator sets its own towing cap.
- Know the cap type. A quote's towing number only helps once you know whether it is in km or RM.
- Labour, not parts. Minor roadside repairs usually cover labour only.
- Not a claim. Roadside help is a service benefit, separate from your own damage claim.
- Call the hotline. Most terms only cover tows the insurer arranges.
What roadside assistance covers
Towing after a breakdown or accident
Roadside assistance generally includes towing services when your vehicle breaks down or is involved in an accident. The towing distance, cost limits and number of trips allowed depend on your insurer's policy.
Minor fixes at the roadside
It may also cover basic roadside assistance to help resolve minor vehicle problems, allowing you to continue your journey without needing a tow. The types of assistance available depend on the policy.
Labour only, not parts
Some policies cover labour costs for minor roadside repairs but exclude the cost of replacement parts. Any additional expenses may need to be paid by the vehicle owner.
A service, not a claim
Roadside assistance is generally a service provided as part of an insurance policy or an additional benefit. Using it does not usually count as a claim for damage to your own vehicle, as it is separate from the motor insurance claims process.
Roadside assistance benefits and towing limits by insurer
Roadside assistance benefits differ between insurance providers. While most offer towing and emergency roadside support, the services included, towing limits and conditions may vary.
The table below compares the roadside assistance benefits listed on BJAK, the towing limits and the information available in each insurer's own Product Disclosure Sheet (PDS) or policy documents.
| Insurer | Towing limit on BJAK | Roadside assistance coverage | Insurer's PDS / policy terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Takaful Malaysia | Up to 50 km per trip, no trip limit. | 24-hour assistance, jump-start, battery replacement, emergency fuel and tyre replacement. | Read PDS. Unlimited breakdown towing, up to 50 km per trip. |
| Takaful IKHLAS | Up to 100 km. | Bantuan IKHLAS roadside assistance, jump-start, battery replacement, flat tyre service and petrol assistance. | Read PDS. Covers accident and breakdown towing and roadside assistance. |
| Pacific & Orient | Up to RM350. | 24-hour roadside assistance, jump-start, battery replacement, emergency fuel and tyre replacement. | Read PDS. Towing limit not specified. |
| Allianz | Up to 150 km. | 24-hour emergency towing and roadside assistance. | Read PDS. 150 km round trip, RM1.50 per additional km. |
| Zurich Takaful | Up to 150 km a year. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. 150 km for new certificates and 300 km for renewals. |
| Liberty | Up to 150 km. | 24-hour roadside assistance, jump-start, battery replacement, emergency fuel and tyre replacement. | Read PDS. Accident towing up to RM200; breakdown towing up to 50 km in West Malaysia or 30 km in East Malaysia. |
| RHB | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance, jump-start, battery replacement, emergency fuel and tyre replacement. | Read PDS. Unlimited breakdown towing available under Road Rescue Elite. |
| MSIG | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Towing limit not specified. |
| Tokio Marine | Up to RM250. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Unlimited towing available as an optional benefit. |
| Tune Protect | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance through Tune Assist. | Read PDS. Accident and breakdown towing up to RM300 through Tune Assist. |
| Great Eastern | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Unlimited towing available under the Easi-Drive 3 add-on. |
| Berjaya Sompo | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Towing to a panel workshop may be provided subject to policy conditions. |
| Chubb | Up to RM400 a year. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Towing limit not specified. |
| Lonpac | Up to RM200. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Towing conditions not confirmed. |
| AIG | Up to RM200. | 24-hour emergency towing, flood towing and replacement battery assistance. | Read PDS. Breakdown towing is unlimited to the nearest panel workshop; accident towing is up to RM200. |
| Generali | Up to RM300. | 24-hour roadside assistance programme. | Read PDS. Refer to the policy terms for towing conditions. |
Note: The benefits and towing limits shown may vary depending on the insurance plan and policy terms. Always check the latest PDS or policy wording before purchasing.
How to read a towing limit
Kilometres or ringgit
A 150 km round trip counts the tow out and back, so the real reach is shorter than 150 km. A ringgit cap depends on what the tow company charges, so the distance it buys can vary.
Going past the limit
You usually pay the extra yourself. Allianz charges RM1.50 per extra km, and Zurich Takaful estimates about RM5 per km plus tolls.
How many tows you get
Some limits apply per trip and others per year. Liberty allows up to 4 events a year, Zurich Takaful's limit is yearly, and Takaful Malaysia has no trip limit at up to 50 km each.
Getting a tow when you need it
Save your insurer's hotline
Most terms only cover a tow that the insurer or its provider arranges. A tow you book yourself may not be covered, so keep the 24-hour number in your phone.
Where your car is taken
Many insurers tow to their nearest panel (approved) workshop. This can affect your repair claim, so read panel vs non-panel workshops before you need it.
Flood towing is often separate
Flood is often treated apart from normal roadside help. Some partners offer a paid add-on that pays for flood towing and cleaning.
Extra help from BJAK
These sit on top of your insurer's benefit and do not change what your insurer covers.
BJAK Digital Road Assist
Eligible BJAK customers can request help through BJAK Digital Road Assist and track it in real time, so you can see when help is on the way.
VIP Rescue add-on
This paid add-on gives one tow per subscription year with no distance limit, for private cars only. It can help when your insurer's cap is short; see the BJAK VIP benefits page.
Frequently asked questions
Not always. The Allianz and Zurich Takaful terms we read tie it to comprehensive cover, and AIG gives a smaller benefit for third party, fire and theft policies.
It depends on how you drive. Unlimited trips at 50 km each suit city drivers, while a 150 km round trip suits longer journeys, so match the limit to your usual routes.
Look in your policy schedule, PDS or the insurer's roadside terms. Our guide on how to read a car insurance PDS shows where.
Compare towing before you renew
Towing limits look similar on paper but work very differently on the road. Check the cap type, trip count and hotline, then compare quotes side by side before you pay.
